on life, music etc beyond mainstream

2013 13 Jul

The tracklist of Jan Bangs „NARRATIVES FROM THE SUBTROPICS“, and a short remark

von: Michael Engelbrecht Abgelegt unter: Blog | TB | Tags:  Kommentare geschlossen

Iron Balcony

Singer’s Ashes


Smashing Windows

The Deep Serene

Singer’s Childhood

Funeral Voyage

Interlude (Night Creatures)

Melee of Suitcases

Artificial Reeves

Sinking Ship

Flooded Corridors



Short remark: The titles suggest a journey by ship, the music is a very quiet and beautiful affair, the sadness involved could be experienced as a moving meditation on things lost and things being still there. This is non-action music of the highest order.

The names of the musicians: Jan Bang (akai sampler, programming, synthesizer, dictaphone, kaoss pad), Arve Henriksen, Eivind Aarset, Sidsel Endresen, Nils Petter Molvaer, Stian Westerhus, Erik Honore, Nils Chr. Moe-Repstad, Lars Danielsson, Undark, Tuule Kann, Tigram Hamasyan, and Dai Fujikura. The cd will be released September 6th on Jazzland Recordings. It’s no jazz, it’s „Where-am-I-music“. Brilliant.


Dieser Beitrag wurde geschrieben am Samstag, 13. Juli 2013 und wurde abgelegt unter "Blog". Du kannst die Kommentare verfolgen mit RSS 2.0. Kommentare und Pings sind zur Zeit geschlossen.

Kommentare sind zur Zeit geschlossen.

Manafonistas | Impressum | Kontakt | Datenschutz