on life, music etc beyond mainstream




Any interest in „ritual groove music“ of highest order? Cross-references between modern jazz and ancient traditons? Time slowing down, deeper trance states? Here we go: it is a good way to start your journey into Joshua Abrams‘ Natural Information Society with the last two albums of this wonderful, ever-changing unit. Both have been released on Aguirre Records, Leuven, Belgium. One live, one from the studio. The new one, „Since Time Is Gravity“, presents quite a big ensemble and will be part of next week‘s „JazzFacts“ (Deutschlandfunk), with an insightful feature by Niklas Wandt, in which Joshua speaks, too, about the harmonium player Lisa Alvarado’s cover art for these albums, a parallel to the way Don and Moki Sherry made their stages a place like home. And, unforgettable, at nighttime, two or three years ago, Joshua Abrams‘ „psychedelic“ introduction to the other „Aguirre“ release, the double album „Descent (Out Of Our Constrictions)“ in which the core group was joined by a stellar contribution from Evan Parker (both works available on cd, dl – and vinyl!).



This entry was posted on Montag, 24. April 2023 and is filed under "Blog". You can follow any responses to this entry with RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


  1. Henning Bolte:

    live Auftritte sind in Arbeit

  2. Michael Engelbrecht:

    Gibt es nahe Termine?

  3. Olaf Westfeld:

    Wäre auch für einen Post / eine Nachricht dankbar, wenn es da eine Tour oder ähnliches gibt…

  4. Michael Engelbrecht:

    Am 2. Dezember 2023 in der Thalia Hall in Chicago, Illinois. olaf, du zahlst den Flug, ich die Tickets, okay?!

  5. Olaf Westfeld:

    😅oder vielleicht umgekehrt?!

  6. Michael Engelbrecht:

    Macht nicht so viel Sinn, ich bekomme die Karten ja umsonst, woll?!

  7. Olaf Westfeld:

    Okay… ich übernehme die Taxifahrt zur Thalia Hall.

  8. Henning Bolte:

    Oder auf Guimbriklängen als magic carpet einfach hinfliegen

  9. Henning Bolte:

    So weit wird wohl nicht nötig sein. Kann weiter jetzt nichts sagen. Seelenruhig abwarten und guten Tee trinken.

  10. Michael Engelbrecht:

    Sounds like a mystery


Manafonistas | Impressum | Kontakt | Datenschutz